Independance Day, DONA, Business, Death, Wedding

Interesting title, eh? Well, that’s what has happened recently in my life. I shall expound below. Independance Day. We had three families over to our place for a barbeque. It was quite the group, with all of us being homeschoolers. Which makes us awesome. Yep. We started off with about half of us kids going for a swim in our extremely deep and murky pond. Even though all of us knew how to swim, we all wore life vests. It was that deep! The rest of the kids (mainly the younger ones) had an epic water gun fight in the backyard, while the menfolk started a game of horseshoes. At 5 o’clock, we started chores (cows do have to be milked on holidays). I think it’s really funny – everyone wanted to milk the cow! So I didn’t have to milk that night 🙂 We then grilled up some hot dogs and sausages, and sat down to a great potluck picnic. Mom let us cheat on GAPS diet, and have potato salad. I think that was the highlight of the day for some of my family members… By the time we finished eating dinner and dessert, it was starting to get dark. Dad started a bonfire, and I started a great game of charades, using a app on my tablet. It’s called Head’s Up,  and what happens is one person holds the tablet or phone on their forehead, and it displays different words. The rest of the group then has to act it out. It’s a lot of fun, and I love watching everyone act. By then, it was really dark, and so we broke out the sparklers and the poppers. While the kids were distracted, Daddy and a friend went down to the pond and set up some fireworks. Mom herded everyone around front just as dad set the first one off. They planned that perfectly! The kids all plopped down in the grass, and the adults sat on the front porch. There were a couple of really good fireworks – I was pleasantly surprised. Of course the whole day I was so busy having fun that I didn’t get a single picture! So that was our Independance Day. Next on happenings was my DONA training course. I am now a DONA trained doula! I had a great time. I met some wonderful ladies, learned a lot, and got inspired,  which brings me to my next topic – business. I’ve started a birth doula business – http://www.BlessedInheritance.weebly.com. I plan on serving at Audrain Medical Center, Hannibal Regional Hospital,  St. Joseph West Hospital, birth centers and homebirths. I am so excited about this opportunity! If you readers don’t mind, could you please visit my website and like me on facebook? Thank you! Onto my next happening. We had another animal die on our farm. This time it hit us a little bit harder. We lost our steer, who we were raising for meat. In fact, he was up to weight, and we were ready to butcher him. Now we have an empty freezer. At least I get to end on a good note! Tomorrow we are going to our Pastor’s son’s wedding. I love seeing the different ceremonies, plus the dresses and reception. Well, that catches you up! By the way, if there are some misspellings or typos, it’s cause my tablet is acting up, and it won’t let me see what I’m typing. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

