Midwives

After I graduated high school, I decided I wanted to pursue Midwifery training. Surprisingly, some people when I tell them don’t know what a midwife is! It’s quite simple.

A midwife is (according to my new medical dictionary ๐Ÿ™‚ “1. a female person who assists women in childbirth.

Not so simply – “2. (according to the International Confederation of Midwives, World Health Organization and Federation of International Gynecologists and Obstetricians) a person who, having been regularly admitted to a midwifery educational program fully recognized in the country in which it is located, has successfully completed the prescribed course of studies in midwifery and has acquired the requisite qualifications to be registered and/or legally licensed to practice midwifery.”

Continued – “Among the responsibilities ofย  the midwife are supervision of pregnancy, delivery, and puerperium. The midwife conducts the delivery independently, cares for the newborn, procures medical assistance when necessary, executes emergency measures as required and may practice in a hospital, clinic, maternity home, or private home. The midwife, whose practice may also include well-child care, family planning, and some aspects of gynecology, is often an important source of health counseling in the community.

Basically, I want to learn how to help mothers and babies through birth.

So how did I get here? What makes me want to do the messy job of delivering babies? Basically, watching my mom give birth to my little brother. It was such a great experience. The fact that God could create a new human inside of us is amazing in my mind! Another reason was watching the doctors that my mom has used throughout the years. Some were just downright rude. EVERYONE I have talked to, that used a midwife at some point, never regretted it. Most described their midwife as kind, caring, and more knowledgeable than their doctors! I think the part of the reason is that midwives seem to view birth as a natural experience, instead of a medical procedure. But I digress. I wanted to post about the course I am taking, not about stupid doctors.

I am taking the correspondence course offered by the Midwifery Institute of America. I chose the Institute for a couple of reasons.

  1. They are Christian, which is great because a lot of schools out there are New Age. And I really don’t to learn about dancing in the moonlight to connect to my “inner self”.
  2. They have the correspondence course. They also have a physical school, but I don’t really have the resources right now to attend the school.
  3. Their course can be completed as quickly or as slowly as you need to. I’d like to complete it as soon as possible, hopefully before next August.

After I complete the course, I will need to find a midwife to apprentice with. (By the way, if anyone knows of someone who would like an apprentice, please let me know! ) Then I will take a test with the North American Registry of Midwives. That would complete my training.

I’m not completely sure I want to practice, but we shall see where God leads me. I’m also continuing my musical studies, so I shall be one busy girl!

One thought on “Midwives

Leave a Reply

