A Home Schooled Graduation

On Saturday, May 19th, 2012, I entered a new stage in my life. I officially graduated from High School.

Now one of the favorite sayings of any homeschooler  is that you never stop learning. And that is very true. I hope and pray I never stop learning about God, or about my family, or about my (future) husband, or about God’s green earth. There are simply too many complex things for me to ever completely understand. And I enjoy learning. However, it is nice to be “graduated” from textbooks and requirements.

I am now enjoying a period in my life where I can choose what I’d like to learn. A period where I can be used by God and I can serve God in ways that I simply couldn’t when I was a child, or even when I’m married and have a family of my own. Now is a period of freedom.

That doesn’t mean that I will use that freedom to do whatever I want. That is definitely NOT wise! I recognize that I still need my parents guidance. With that in mind, I’ve decided not to go away to college, where I would not have access to my parents help and wisdom. So many young adults make bad decisions simply because they think they are old enough to do whatever they want and they don’t need someone to mentor and guide them. So they disobey God, their parents, and the government that God set in place.

Also, a lot of people might think that I’m forced to do whatever my parents want or say. THAT IS NOT TRUE. I respect my parents, and take into consideration what they suggest. There are times where I don’t agree with them. Then we discuss all the different aspects of it until we come to a conclusion. Now that an adult, I legally don’t have to listen to them. But I’ve found that I simply don’t want to go against their wishes. I see no reason to stop wearing skirts just because I’m an adult and that was one of their rules. I like wearing skirts! But that is a topic for another time.

I guess you could sum this all up in these two sentences – I’m viewing this as a wonderful new stage in my life. I’m enjoying my “freedom”, but I’m still going to look to my earthly father for guidance until I look to my husband for guidance.

Anyways, Saturday went really well. My grandparents came the night before, and they kindly helped decorate and finish making the food items. My sisters and I got up a little earlier than usual, did chores, then we decorated the backyard. Unfortunately, I was not able to get any pictures of the outside 😦 So you’ll just have to believe me when I said that it looked great! We had several tables set up, with white tablecloths, and clear bowls that we floated flowers in. Mom and Dad got lots of metallic, helium pink heart and and silver star balloons that we tied to stones wrapped in pink tissue paper that we also had on the tables. Gab really wanted to put up streamers, so on our garden fence we put up pink and white streamers, with some more balloons.

For food items, we had Sloppy Joes, hot dogs, Potato Salad <3, Fruit Salad, a veggie tray, chips, lemonade, and sweet tea.

Mommy and Daddy surprised Bri and I with white roses, and a full on graduation ceremony for myself, complete with cap, gown, diploma, and speech.

Here is an excerpt from the speech my dad made:

Graduation – What does that mean?

Webster’s Family Dictionary states that is receiving a degree or diploma for completing a course of study.

As home educators, we don’t believe that your education is ever complete. Learning is a lifetime adventure and you can never know everything there is to know about God’s creations.

So what are we celebrating today? Today, Caitlin “graduates” from learning about what we want her to learn, and she now will be the one who gets to choose what she studies.

Today we celebrate all of Caitlin’s accomplishments. Twelve years of academics,

twelve years of music study. Eighteen years of preparing for life. Most importantly,

eighteen years of learning God’s word.

Academics have never been our primary concern in her education. Knowing God as her Savior has. For if God is first in her life, everything else will fall into place. Nothing else is lasting or eternal. We have tried to impress upon her the importance of hearing or reading God’s word on a daily basis.

We are told in 2nd Timothy, Chapter 3, verses 16-17: “All scripture is God-breathed, and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”

This good work includes the joy of serving others, being self-disciplined, loving children, keeping pure, and being an ambassador for Christ. We have tried to prepare her for the trials that may lie ahead and pray that she may be faithful to God through it all.

So I’ve decided to stay at home. I’m going to take local classes. I’m enrolling in a correspondence course. I hope to travel up to Steven’s Point, WI next year with my family to take a summer course. And most importantly, I’m going to follow God.

2 thoughts on “A Home Schooled Graduation

  1. Feminie Farmgirl –
    I would LOVE to see a video of the graduation!
    May God bless you in this new season of learning, preparing and serving Him in new ways!
    Love,
    Allison

Leave a Reply

