Our Christmas

Soooo, I haven’t posted in a while because we moved and we didn’t have internet. Now we have internet, and that makes me happy! 🙂 It’s nice to be able to read other people’s blog posts again – not to mention check my email!

Getting Ready For Christmas!

My grandparents are going down to Florida early this year, and so they celebrated Christmas with us this weekend. My Grandma is so sweet – she made each of us our own “backpack”, and gave us each a 2012 calendar with all of our family’s birthdays on it, which is great because I tend to forget when my cousins’ birthdays are D:

We all are really excited about celebrating Christmas in our new house. The stairway is perfect for lit garland, the outside of the house is sooo pretty with the icicle lights and pine garland, and we have THE perfect place for our Christmas tree (No, we haven’t gotten it yet). My sisters went a little overboard with decorating and even decorated our bunkbed!

We have Christmas music playing at all possible times, and because Christmas time is so short, and we have so many great Christmas movies, we are usually watching a movie every night. The only thing that we are missing – that I would love to have – is a mantle to hang our stockings, but we figured that either the stairs will work or we will put some nails up behind the woodstove.

Our Tradition

During the month of December, we bake lots of yummy cookies. We each get to choose a kind, and help mom bake them. I usually choose Snickerdoodles.

The week before Christmas is when we’ll get our Christmas tree. We ALWAYS get a real tree, and we decorate it as a family. Our ornaments have been collected over the years, and each of them means something to each of us. My favorite ornament I got just after Brianna was born. It’s a girl clown holding the hands of a baby clown (signifying me holding Brianna’s hands – don’t ask why we are clowns). My Dad gets my Mom a “year” ornament every year. It says whatever this past year has been, and it generally has two animals sitting next to one other.

On Christmas Eve, we go to a local church. My mom prefers an actual Christmas Eve Service, but we generally are in the Christmas programs at whatever church we are attending. For dinner, we pretty much eat at McDonalds. Yep, you read that right. We eat at McDonalds. It’s the only place that’s open on Christmas Eve, and when my mom was growing up, they only got to eat out once a year, and it was at McDonalds. Blech.

When we get home, we all change into our pajamas and pose for pictures with our empty stockings. Then it’s bedtime for kids. A couple years ago, my siblings had a hard time getting to sleep, so I started telling them stories. It was about a prince named Caleb, who had three sisters and one brother, and was forever eating magical fruit that changed him or his surroundings. These stories are hilarious, because inevitability I’m half asleep, and I don’t really pay attention to what I’m saying. I believe the first story had a fat guy taking a bath (after Prince Caleb ate an apple that shrunk himself to the size of an ant). Yeah….

Mom and Dad set a time that we can wake them up (usually 7am, I believe). That was started after we woke them up at 4am! From there it varies. Normally we do stockings, then Dad reads the Nativity Story as told in Luke (while eating yummy Stollen), then we open presents in sets with breakfast somewhere in there.

Food is good:

  • Breakfast is Baked French Toast and Orange Julius smoothie.
  • Lunch is whatever. Sometimes soup, sometimes we skip it, etc.
  • Dinner is Ham with twice-baked potatoes, green beans and bacon, corn, seven-layer salad, rolls, and sparkling apple cider.
  • Dessert is pie. Pumpkin pie, apple pie, pear pie, peach pie.

We also have Rice Pudding and Kronskage (Danish Wedding Cake). If you haven’t read Annika’s Secret Wish by Beverly Lewis, I highly recommend it. We aren’t Swedish (at least not that I know of), but we are Danish, which is super similar. Anyways, a nut is put into the rice pudding, then served to everyone. Whoever finds the nut in their dish gets to make a wish. In our family, whoever finds the nut, gets a special present (usually a family game). It’s a lot of fun. And Kronskage is almond paste, sugar and eggs, mixed together and formed into rings, then baked. My great-grandmother is Danish, and this is her tradition. We were able to make some with her when she was here for Thanksgiving, which was such a blessing.

And that’s our Christmas.

3 thoughts on “Our Christmas

  1. So great to see you back in the blog world!

    I’ve been thinking that we should put lights up on our bunkbed, since we have so many. I’m sure Meiling would like that. 🙂

    Your Christmas Eve dinner is McDonald’s? I would never have guessed.

    Oh, and I’d love to hear your stories.

    ~Allison

Leave a Reply

