Proverbs 31:14

ships

She is like the merchant ships, bringing her food from afar. (Proverbs 31:14, NIV)

This verse troubled me – not because I didn’t understand it, but I didn’t know what to write about it. I asked my mom what I should write and she said that I should write about part of the job of a woman has. So I will…

We all know that it is the husband’s (or father’s) job to provide food for his family, right? So how does this verse apply to us, as women? I thought of it this way: the husband or father is the merchant; the wife (or future wife) is the merchant’s ship. To explain this better, the husband’s job is to provide the money for his family; the wife’s job is to use that money in the correct way. I’m not saying that the family’s fianaces are your job only. On the contrary, I think your husband should be invovled with all things. But it’s your job to get the groceries, make sure your family is clothed properly, etc, with the grocherys being what this verse pertains to. That’s easy, just feed the family.

I suggest that if you don’t know how to cook, that you start now. That is probably the best skill you can have. Another thing that you can do is have your parents write out a budget for groceries and have you get them.  If you grow all that you eat, try planting your own garden and planing meals around what you plant. Get as much practice being a wife and parent as you can.

Leave a Reply

