Tags

, , , ,

Over the last couple years, my family has been on a health journey. It started with my brother, who we found out was allergic to the dye Red #40. We started researching more about the food we eat, such as the ingredients, and where it comes from. It’s been estimated that food travels approx. 10,000 miles to get to your plate. Why pay for that, when there are local farmers who sell better stuff?

Long story short, we now eat local, organically grown food as much as possible, and we try to make as much food as we can ourselves. That means body care products as well. I now make my own deodorant and lotion.

Yesterday, I tried making my own toothpaste. I think it works really well, and I like the flavor and how it leaves my teeth feeling. My dad doesn’t like how you have to dip your toothbrush in though :-)

Here is the original recipe:

Homemade Toothpaste

2 Tbsp. coconut oil
2 Tbsp. baking soda
2 Tbsp. calcium magnesium powder
2 Tbsp. xylitol or green stevia powder
2 tsp. real sea salt
20 drops essential oil (I use peppermint.)
10 drops trace minerals

Now, as with everything, I tweak. I’m very good at tweaking, and I like tweaking. Anyways… Here is how I tweaked it:

Caitlin’s Homemade Toothpaste

2 Tbsp. coconut oil
2 Tbsp. baking soda
2 Tbsp. calcium magnesium powder Natural Calm Raspberry-Lemon Flavor
2 Tbsp. xylitol or green stevia powder
2 tsp. real sea salt
20 drops essential oil (I use peppermint.)
10 drops trace minerals

Because I used the flavored magnesium, I didn’t add any essential oils. And I didn’t have the trace minerals. I also saw a very similar recipe here. They suggested adding Diatomaceous Earth and liquid Castile soap. I’d suggest that you use either baking soda or Diatomaceous Earth, as both are abrasive, and you don’t want to hurt your teeth.

So there you have it – homemade toothpaste. Let me know if anyone has any questions.

